Skip to Content
2013 Granta Best of British Novelists
Author: Guo, Xiaolu, 1973-
Author: Markovits, Benjamin
Author: Raisin, Ross, 1979-
Author: Hall, Steven
Author: Anam, Tahmima
Author: Kavenna, Joanna
Author: Mohamed, Nadifa
Author: Smith, Zadie

Prize winning books 

Why not see what you think of the books that have been selected as the best of the year? Read them yourself and see if you agree with the judges. The links below take you to some of the book award websites.

Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction 2017 - Shortlist Announced!

The Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is the UK's only annual book award for fiction written by a woman. The award celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women from throughout the world. 
This year the winner is announced on 7th June at the Royal Festival Hall. The shortlisted titles are: 
Costa Book Awards Costa Book Awards

Costa Book Of the Year Winner 2016 - 
Days Without End by Sebastian Barry

Costa Book Awards 2016 - Category Winners

Costa Novel Award Winner - Days Without End by Sebastian Barry
Costa Biography Award Winner - Dadland: A Journey into Uncharted Territory by Keggie Carew 
Costa First Novel Award Winner - Golden Hill by Francis Spufford
Costa Children's Book Award Winner - The Bombs That Brought Us Together by Brian Conaghan 
Costa Poetry Award Winner - Falling Awake by Alice Oswald  

The Whitbread Literary Awards, as they were then known, were launched in 1971. Costa took over the ownership of the Book Awards in 2006.

There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book. For each category there are three judges - an author, a bookseller and a journalist. They select a shortlist of four books, which includes the winner.

The criteria are to select well-written, enjoyable books that they would strongly recommend anyone to read.

A nine-member judging panel, including the author from each of the original category judging panels together with a Chairman and three other people in the public eye who love reading, then read the five winners and select one of them as the overall Costa Book of the Year.

Man Booker Prize Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize launched in 1969 and is awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK.

Man Booker Prize 2016 Winner

Book cover of The Sellout by Paul Beatty

The Man Booker Prize Winner is The Sellout by Paul Beatty. Paul is the first American to win the Prize in its 48 year history. American authors only became eligable for the prize in 2014.

The Sellout is about a young man's isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, it challenges the sacred tenets of the United States Constitution, urban life, the civil rights movement, the father-son relationship, and the holy grail of racial equality—the black Chinese restaurant. Born in the "agrarian ghetto" of Dickens—on the southern outskirts of Los Angeles—the narrator of The Sellout resigns himself to the fate of lower-middle-class Californians: "I'd die in the same bedroom I'd grown up in, looking up at the cracks in the stucco ceiling that've been there since '68 quake."

Carnegie and Greenaway Children's Book Awards Carnegie and Greenaway Children's Book Awards

Carnegie and Greenaway Childrens Book Awards

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs.

CILIP Carnegie Medal 2016 Winner
One by Sarah Crossan

CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 Winner
The Sleeper and the Spindle illustrated by Chris Riddell, written by Neil Gaiman 

The Sleeper and the Spindle Illustrated by Chris Riddell, Written Neil Gaiman. Winner of Kate Greenaway Medal - 2016One by Sarah Crossan, Winner of the Carnegie Medal - 2016


The CWA Dagger in the Library The CWA Dagger in the Library

The Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for an author's entire body of work and is one of six highly prized CWA Dagger Awards awarded to crime writers since 1955. 

The 2017 Shortlist has been announced! The 2017 shortlisted authors are:

 - Kate Ellis 
 - Tana French
 - Mari Hannah
 - James Oswald
 - C. J. Sansom
 - Andrew Taylor

Below is a selction of the shortlisted authors works:

Sort by: Title
Book:Written in bones:2017
Author: Oswald, James
Year 2017
Media class: Book
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Book:The trespasser:2017
Author: French, Tana
Year 2017
Media class: Book
Publisher: Hodder
Author: Sansom, C. J.
Year 2007
Media class: Book
Publisher: Pan
Book:The silent room:2015
Author: Hannah, Mari
Year 2015
Media class: Book
Publisher: Macmillan
Guardian First Book Award Guardian First Book Award

Guardian First Book Award is a literary award by The Guardian newspaper and was established in 1999. The award annually recognises new writers across fiction and non-fiction. 10 books are nominated by publishers with the 11th slot nominated by readers. 

First Book Award 2015 Winner
Physical by Andrew McMillan

First Book Award 2014 Winner
Young Skins by Colin Barrett

 Tel 01302 734315 | Text: 71006 |                                         | speech enable | help        

Powered by Axiell Arena