2013 Granta Best of British Novelists

Author: Kavenna, Joanna
Author: Anam, Tahmima, 1975-
Author: Smith, Zadie
Author: Oyeyemi, Helen
Author: Smith, Zadie
Author: Oyeyemi, Helen
Author: Mohamed, Nadifa
Author: Sahota, Sunjeev
Author: Raisin, Ross, 1979-
Author: Hall, Sarah, 1974-

Prize winning books

Prize winning books 

Why not see what you think of the books that have been selected as the best of the year? Read them yourself and see if you agree with the judges. The links below take you to some of the book award websites.

The Booker Prize

The Booker Prize

The Booker Prize (Previously The Man Booker) launched in 1969 and is awarded each year for the best original novel written in the English language and published in the UK.

The longlist will be announced on 26 July, the shortlist on 6 September and the winner on 17 October. More details will be revealed soon, watch this space!

Women's Prize for Fiction

Women's Prize for Fiction 2019

The Women's Prize for Fiction is the UK's only annual book award for fiction written by a woman. The award celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing by women from throughout the world.
 WINNER 2019
An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
Author Tayari Jones has won the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction with her fourth novel An American Marriage. Professor Kate Williams, Chair of Judges, said: “This is an exquisitely intimate portrait of a marriage shattered by racial injustice. It is a story of love, loss and loyalty, the resilience of the human spirit painted on a big political canvas – that shines a light on today’s America. We all loved this brilliant book.”
Women's Prize for Fiction 2019 Shortlist 
The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker
My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite
Milkman by Anna Burns
Ordinary People by Diana Evans
An American Marriage by Tayari Jones
Circe by Madeline Miller

Costa Book Awards

Costa Book Of the Year Winner 2018 - 

The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es


Costa Book Awards 2018 - Category Winners
Costa Novel Award Winner - Normal People by Sally Rooney
Costa Biography Award Winner - The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es
Costa First Novel Award Winner - The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton
Costa Children's Book Award Winner - The Skylarks' War by Hilary McKay
Costa Poetry Award Winner - Assurances by J.O. Morgan

The Whitbread Literary Awards, as they were then known, were launched in 1971. Costa took over the ownership of the Book Awards in 2006.

There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book. For each category there are three judges - an author, a bookseller and a journalist. They select a shortlist of four books, which includes the winner.

The criteria are to select well-written, enjoyable books that they would strongly recommend anyone to read.

A nine-member judging panel, including the author from each of the original category judging panels together with a Chairman and three other people in the public eye who love reading, then read the five winners and select one of them as the overall Costa Book of the Year.


The CWA Dagger in the Library

The Dagger in the Library is awarded not for an individual book but for an author's entire body of work and is one of six highly prized CWA Dagger Awards awarded to crime writers since 1955. 

The winner of this year's award will be announced at the glamorous CWA Dagger Awards Gala Dinner at the Leonardo Royal Hotel London City on 24 October 2019. 

Below is a selection of this year's shortlisted authors works:

Results list

Sort by: Title
Book:The woman in the woods:2019 Book
Author: Connolly, John, 1968-
Year: 2019
Media class: Book
Publisher: Hodder
Book:Tombland:2018 Book
Author: Sansom, C. J.
Year: 2018
Media class: Book
Publisher: Mantle
Book:A time of torment:2017 Book
Author: Connolly, John, 1968-
Year: 2017
Media class: Book
Publisher: Hodder
Book:Time of death:2017 Book
Author: Billingham, Mark
Year: 2017
Media class: Book
Publisher: Sphere

Carnegie and Greenaway Children's Book Awards

Carnegie and Greenaway Children's Book Awards - Nominations announced!

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually to the writer of an outstanding book for children. The CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955, for distinguished illustration in a book for children. It is named after the popular nineteenth-century artist known for her fine children's illustrations and designs.

The Cilip Greenaway Medal - Winner 2019

The Lost Words illustrated by Jackie Morris and written by Robert Macfarlane


The Cilip Carnegie Medal - Winner 2019

The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo


This is the first time both Acevedo and Morris have won a prestigious Medal in either category. The Poet X is Acevedo’s debut novel. Morris has previously been shortlisted for the Kate Greenaway Medal in 2016 for Something About a Bear.

It is the first time in the Medals history that both winning titles have been written in verse: in The Poet X, in verse influenced by slam poetry; in The Lost Words, in the form of spells. Only one verse novel has previously won the Carnegie Medal: Sarah Crossan’s One, in 2016.

Powered By (NEW)

 Tel 01302 734315 | Text: 71006 | Email:centrallibrary@doncaster.gov.uk                                               Privacy | Speech enable              

Powered by Axiell Arena